Juicy Couture Viva la Juicy

12 Apr

Have you every seen someone on the street who looked nothing like you and found yourself facing the overwhelming desire to follow them home to see what their bedroom looked like? Okay, perhaps that comes off as a little voyeuristic or perverse, but it’s nothing more than human curiosity! This is the sensation delivered by Viva la Juicy.

 

The first time I encountered Viva la Juicy, I did not actually get to smell it. It was in fact, on the bedroom dresser of a complete stranger.

NO, I did not follow a stranger home and then sneak into her bedroom. My boyfriend and I were visiting his sister, and she let us stay in her roommate’s bedroom while she was away. I had never met the girl before, but I was taken aback by the unabashedly normal-girly character of my surroundings as I tried my best to “make myself at home.”

There were Hello Kitty decals all over her walls, pink curtains, pink cheetah print bedspread, an enormous fluffy white elongated teddy bear in place of a pillow, and on the dresser in front of the mirror, was Viva la Juicy. For some reason, I could not muster up the courage to ask my boyfriend’s sister if I could sample her roommate’s perfume. Every time I tried to ask, my tongue was tied. It was like being in a museum display dedicated to the contemporary, all-American twenty-something. It was right in front of me and yet I couldn’t interact with it.

When I returned home and bought a mini of Viva la Juicy at the pharmacy, I tried it out and it totally met my expectations. It was just like being back in our host’s roommate’s bedroom. Sweet, fruity in a pineapple body mist kind of way, thoroughly synthetic, generic, vanillic, CGI florals throughout, and in it’s own way, pure.

Viva la Juicy is the smell of the idea of present day America. It’s like an olfatory “melting pot”. Sure, everyone’s idea of America is different, but there is something so profoundly vacuous and romantically generic about Viva la Juicy, I have to admit it’s extremely compelling. It doesn’t smell specifically like caramel or fruit or flowers. It smells like a young girl with blonde highlights and Ugg boots over light grey leggings, who is concerned with the present, the evening to follow, her birthday, and not much else.

meimei painting

It’s like the adolescence… hell, like the LIFE I could never have (and don’t actually want to have) in my country. I refer to it as “The Jesus Camp Fragrance” when talking about it with my boyfriend. I call it that because it is an intense youthful expression of an ideal that I could never come within miles of attaining. It’s a lobotomy in a bottle. Who doesn’t occasionally wish for the relief of a temporary zombification? Is that not the present-day American way? I can dig it (if only in the form of a fragrance).

Like America itself, Viva la Juicy knows no season, nor occasion. It’s suitable to wear while doing anything your heart desires. I’m just happy that at last I finally get to follow the stranger..
home.

2 Responses to “Juicy Couture Viva la Juicy”

  1. Clancy Ratliff December 24, 2014 at 2:03 am #

    I love this! Best review of VLJ ever.

    • clamato December 24, 2014 at 2:12 am #

      Aw, thanks so much for your kind comment! Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

Tasha Pilot-Slow

Painting and Assemblage

Rose Strang

Art and Photography by Rose Strang

[BELLA]VIA

lifestyle,illustrations,travel & beauty

Amy Berkowitz

Copywriter

nstperfume

a blog about perfume

Perfume Shrine

To stop and smell the roses takes a lifetime

Modern Urban Sensory Experiences

To stop and smell the roses takes a lifetime

My Life Among the Lithops (and Other Strange Plants)

To stop and smell the roses takes a lifetime

Perfume Project NW

To stop and smell the roses takes a lifetime

sherapop's salon de parfum

To stop and smell the roses takes a lifetime

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

Pour Monsieur

To stop and smell the roses takes a lifetime

From Pyrgos

To stop and smell the roses takes a lifetime

Bigslyfragrance's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

